How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account

There are two stages to removing yourself from Facebook. The first – Facebook’s preferred method – is simply a deactivation of your profile rather than a full deletion.


Deactivation is a bit of misnomer. Technically your Facebook profile is deactivated, but as the deactivation confirmation page (where Facebook insists you give a reason for leaving) handily notes:

How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account

If that’s a little extreme for you, maybe deactivating your account is a better choice. Here’s how:

  • Go to Facebook’s settings. If you’re on the Facebook site, look for the little disclosure triangle at the right end of the blue tool bar.
  • Choose Settings
  • Select General
  • Click Edit next to Manage Account
  • Click Deactivate Account

Your posts and timeline aren’t visible to anyone, but everything is still there. You can reactivate your account later if you want.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post