How To Delete An Old Facebook Account

When you stop using a social networking profile or website it’s a good idea to deactivate or delete your account. This will mean that your content is no longer live and should not be searchable online; it will also remove the risk of these accounts being used by others or hacked without you knowing.


This blog gives site specific guidance about how to deactivate or delete your accounts, and what these options mean.

Recovering Your Account

(This step is for those who don’t remember their login information which is mostly the case for old accounts)


Start with a general recovery by clicking on the “forgot my password/reset my password” button on the log in page. You will have to identify your account by one of the following:

  • Your email associated with the account
  • Facebook username (get this by going to the profile URL and seeing in as the end tag in the address bar)
  • Both your name, and the name of a trusted person on that friend’s list.

Facebook

On Facebook you have the options of either deactivating and deleting your account.

If you deactivate your account:

  • You can reactivate it whenever you want.
  • People can't see your timeline or search for you.
  • Some things may remain visible (for example: messages you sent).

To deactivate your account:

  • Click the account menu  at the top right of any Facebook page
  • Select Settings
  • Click General in the left column
  • Choose Manage your account and then scroll down to click Deactivate your account

If you delete your account:

  • You can't regain access once it's deleted.
  • Deletion is delayed for a few days after you put in a request. A deletion request is cancelled if you log back into your Facebook account during this time.
  • It may take up to 90 days to delete data stored in backup systems. Your info isn't accessible on Facebook during this time.
  • Some things aren't stored in your account. For example, a friend may have messages from you after deletion.

To permanently delete your account then you need to contact Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post